Contributing Editors

  • Anne Bardolph
    Acquisitions Librarian
    email

    Pat Bingham-Harper
    Cataloging Librarian
    email

    Margaret Clark
    Reference Librarian
    email

    Marin Dell
    Reference Librarian
    email

    Elizabeth Farrell
    Reference Librarian
    email

    Robin Gault
    Associate Director
    email

    Faye Jones
    Professor and Director of Law Library
    email

    Jon Lutz
    Electronic Services Librarian
    email

    Mary McCormick
    Assistant Director for Public Services
    email

    Trisha Simonds
    Reference Libriarian
    email

May 2008

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosopohy is a free online encyclopedia of philosophy.  Here is a brief desciption from the encyclopedia website:

Welcome to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP).  From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned.  The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

Try it here.

Posted by Jon Lutz

National Library of Scotland to Preserve Blogs

The National Library of Scotland has decided that some new forms of digital source materials merit a spot in the library's digital collection.

The websites and blogs of leading cultural figures, including writers such as JK Rowling and Alasdair Gray, will become prime exhibits.

Digital curators will also save digital source material such as personal e-mails, which they believe will be used as primary research material by academics and biographers. (The Sunday Times)

--
Muriel Spark (NLS digital library example)

Posted by Toni Urquhart

Berkeley Electronic Press

Our subscription to The Berkeley Electronic Press was recently expanded to full access to all materials on the website including two new law journals: International Commentary on Evidence and Muslim World Journal of Human Rights

Posted by Anne Bardolph

Polls on Westlaw

Westlaw's DIALOG database, POLL, contains a "comprehensive collection of public opinion surveys conducted in the United States by major polling firms and the news media covering the full spectrum of public interest."  Selected coverage begins in 1936; full coverage begins in 1960.  Because DIALOG has precise field restricted searching, it is important to look at both the Westlaw scope note for POLL and at the DIALOG Bluesheet, which contains more detailed information about searching the database.

Posted by Mary McCormick.

FSU Classical Music

FSU's Warren D. Allen Music Library has a campus-wide classical music subscription.  It is not, alas, yet available via off-campus access. 

Posted by Mary McCormick